Curried Chicken with Mango Chutney and Cellentani | Sprinkle and a Dash

Curried Chicken with Mango Chutney and Cellentani

Doesn’t this just say, Spring?

Curried Chicken with Mango Chutney and Cellentani | Sprinkle and a Dash

 It is my FAVORITE time of year. Is it your’s?

Curried Chicken with Mango Chutney and Cellentani 3

And, mangoes, who doesn’t love a perfect mango?

These were incredible!

Did I tell you yet that I love Curry?  Maybe I did? Well, I haven’t made curry often enough so far this year.  It was a craving this week.  And, I am so glad that mangoes were readily available to indulge me in this curry. Smile!

Not only does this recipe full fill my craving, but it is spring on a plate. Warm and sweet rich with flavor and color.

Curried Chicken with Mango Chutney and Cellentani | Sprinkle and a Dash

When I think of spring, I often think of Easter, which will be later this week. I will be sticking with the traditional ham, sweet potato something, and I don’t know what else yet.  Is that bad?  I saw these Carrot Cake Cinnamon Rolls and am pretty sure they are on the menu.  I woke up this morning thinking about them.  If anyone is willing to share their favorite Easter side dish I am taking suggestions.  Please!

Curried Chicken with Mango Chutney and Cellentani 5

As for this Chicken Curry with Mango Chutney,  you don’t have to add the pasta, you could serve it over a bed of rice. You can even serve it cold as a wrap. Oh, please I hope there are leftovers.  I love the way the flavors meld the day after, served cold or hot.

Curried Chicken with Mango Chutney and Cellentani | Sprinkle and a Dash

Curried Chicken with Mango Chutney

Ingredients:

CHUTNEY:
2 cups diced peeled ripe mango (about 2 large mangoes or 4 small)
1 cup finely chopped onion
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon grated, peeled fresh ginger
1/4 teaspoon salt
CHICKEN:
1 teaspoon olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces (or 3 cups rotisserie chicken, chopped)
1 cup coconut milk
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons red curry paste
1 to 2 teaspoons Thai fish sauce
1 red bell pepper
1 orange or yellow bell pepper
1 – 2 cups snow peas
4 cups hot cooked cellentani pasta (about 2 cups uncooked tube/corkscrew shaped pasta)
Garnishes:
Chopped green onions
Chopped cilantro
Sour Cream (I know…what?  My boys love it with a little on top.)

Preparation:

For Chutney:
  • Combine first 9 ingredients in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes or until most of liquid evaporates and mixture is thick, stirring occasionally.

For Chicken and vegetables:

  • Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic and chicken; sauté 5 minutes.
  • Combine coconut milk and next 4 ingredients (coconut milk through fish sauce), stirring with a whisk. Add coconut mixture to pan; bring to a simmer.
  • Add peppers and snow peas; cover and cook 5 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender, stirring occasionally.
  • Stir in chutney and pasta; toss well to combine.
  • Sprinkle with desired garnishes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.