Caper and Lemon Pepper Cod with Savory Braised Cabbage

Caper and Lemon Pepper Cod over Savory Braised Cabbage

Caper and Lemon Pepper Cod with Savory Braised Cabbage 1

I usually prefer my fish grilled or blackened, but I found gently cooking fish over a bed of savory vegetables to be quite satisfying.

This recipe is ready to enjoy in just a few minutes with very minimal prep-work and yet bursts with flavor. Adding capers to mild savory dishes brightens up everything without adding hardly any calories. When you’re weeks into a very low calorie diet like me, you appreciate these little guys.  I still have high standards when it comes to my food being enjoyable even though my list of options is very limited.  Again my creative side kicks in and I am wonderfully satisfied with a dish like this Caper and Lemon Pepper Cod with Savory Braised Cabbage.  I’ll make this even when I’m not eating for a diet.

 

Caper and Lemon Pepper Cod with Savory Braised Cabbage 2

Lemon Pepper and Caper Cod over Savory Braised Cabbage

Ingredients:

  • One head of Cabbage, sliced thinly
  • 2 garlic cloves, pressed or minced
  • 1/2 – 1 cup chicken broth
  • 4 (4oz) Cod fillets
  • lemon pepper seasoning, to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons Capers
  • Juice of a lemon

 

Preparation:

In a medium frying pan combine broth and garlic.  Sprinkle the Cabbage over the broth and lay the cod on top well spaced.

Sprinkle lemon pepper seasoning and salt over the cod. Cover and simmer over medium heat  for about 10 minutes, the broth should be mostly absorbed and the Cabbage should be tender. The fish should just begin to break apart or flake easily.

Serve hot with a squeeze of lemon and capers sprinkled on top.

 

Leave a Reply

