Hawaiian Ahi Poke with Pineapple 1

Hawaiian Ahi Poke with Pineapple

The last few months have been a whirlwind of busy happiness.  I think there IS such a thing if you doubt me.  My plates were spinning quite fast and now have come to a rest.  The engagement and finally wedding of my oldest son, saw my family welcome our first daughter into the family this month (I know she’s my daughter-in-law, but I couldn’t love her more!) , followed by the graduation of my youngest son from High School, and a summer break from teaching Culinary Arts to elementary students.

So hello Sprinkle and a Dash, I’ve missed you!

Now I have summer on my mind, it’s over 100 outside so how could I not? Later I’ll be making dinner, but using the oven is not an option on a day like today.  So why not make Ahi Poke? Hot summer days are perfect for cool summer dinners.  Ceviche and BBQ Chicken Pizza are also great summer options that don’t need the oven or stove.

But today Hawaiian Ahi Poke with Pineapple is on my mind. Sweet and salty, Yum!

Hawaiian Ahi Poke with Pineapple

 

Hawaiian Ahi Poke with Pineapple 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon ginger, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon Sesame oil
  • 1 lb. Ahi or other tuna, sushi grade
  • 1/4 – 1/2 Cup diced red onion
  • 2 Cups fresh pineapple, cubed
  • Black Sesame seeds as desired

 

Preparation:

Mix together in a medium bowl, the soy sauce, ginger, and sesame oil.  Cut Ahi into small 1/2 inch cubes and toss with soy sauce mixture.  Dice the red onion and chop the pineapple then combine with Ahi in the marinade.  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours, but use within 2 days.  Drain and Sprinkle with black sesame seeds before serving.

I like to serve Hawaiian Ahi Poke with Pineapple over warm brown rice with some seaweed and more fresh pineapple.

Dinner is served!

 

Leave a Reply

