Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza 6

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza

If you’re like me, you dread turning on your oven in the summer. But sometimes you crave homemade pizza.

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza 2

Instead of the oven, get creative with your grill.

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza 3

Cooking on the grill takes some trial and error, but if you’re willing to keep an eye on what your cooking, you can use it for a lot more than grilling meats and veggies.

 

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza 4

Right now, my favorite “spare my family from a hot kitchen ” dinner is to grill pizza.  The options are limitless, but if I don’t want to make a variety of combos… Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza is the favorite.  Add peppers, pineapple, cilantro, even avocado and you can doll it up nicely.

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza 5

This time my fridge was on empty, so it was leftover chicken and sliced sweet onion.

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza 6

BTW, look at that crust.  I have burned SO MANY grilled pizzas.  I’ll be honest, it’s a tricky one to grill. I’ve been making grilled pizza for years now …  even last week, I followed someone’s recipe exactly.  Cooked it on my pizza stone and … burned it.

Hint: the grill does NOT really need to be 500+ degrees to grill the pizza. That’s how you burn one.  Yes, preheat it to 500-600 degrees, but turn it down once the pizza is in there.

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza 7

Last night my grill was hovering between 350 and 400 degrees, and it was pizza perfection night.  Plus, I tried my paella pan instead of my pizza stone.

I am LOVING my paella pan.  I never knew how much I needed one until I bought it!

It made three perfect pizzas last night in less than 40 minutes.  That’s 100% success! Happy wife and mom here.

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza 8

 

Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza

Ingredients:

  • Refrigerated pizza dough
  • BBQ sauce
  • 2 Cups shredded Mozzerella or Italian Cheese combo
  • 1 1/2 Cups diced rotisserie chicken
  • 1/4 of a small sweet onion, thinly sliced
  • Other additions – pineapple, red pepper, cilantro, green onion, avocado, etc.

Preparation:

  1. Set thawed dough ball in bag on counter to warm and rest for 20 minutes.
  2. Heat grill on high for 10 to 15 minutes, roughly 500 to 600 degrees. (If using a pizza stone, preheat on grill at the same time.)
  3. While grill heats, prepare pizza…. lightly flour a large piece of parchment paper and roll dough ball out into a 12 inch round crust.
  4. Spread a small amount of BBQ sauce onto crust, top with cheese, chicken, and any other desired toppings.
  5. If you are using a cookie sheet or paella pan instead of a pizza stone, place it on grill to heat up for 2-3 minutes over direct heat.
  6. Place parchment paper with the pizza on the pan or stone. Turn burners down to medium and grill on indirect heat for 7 minutes.
  7. Slide a spatula under and around pizza to separate it from the parchment, you should be able to easily slide out the parchment paper. Turn pizza a quarter turn. Grill for 6 to 10 more minutes or until dough is done and crust is nicely browned. If it is cooking slowly go ahead and slide the pan over direct heat for a few (2-3) minutes.

WordPress

Crave

 

2 thoughts on “Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza

Leave a Reply

