Lemon, Ricotta, and Hazelnut Pesto with Chicken and Rosemary Ravioli

Hazelnut, Ricotta, and Lemon Pesto with Chicken and Rosemary Ravioli

Hazelnut, Ricotta, and Lemon Pesto with Chicken and Rosemary Ravioli

 

Who has spare time these days?

In my spare time I like to research recipes and find new uses for common ingredients. I enjoy playing with techniques I haven’t tried before and the pleasure of finding a new favorite recipe. If you’re like me, quick and easy meals are a necessity.  But quick and easy doesn’t have to mean boring and bland.  I know everyone says that, but it is so true.  If I am going to put calories in my body, I really want to enjoy them. I’m just funny that way.

Lemon, Ricotta, and Hazelnut Pesto with Chicken and Rosemary Ravioli 2

Lemon, I don’t know about you, but I love lemon anything; it is such a flavor brightener. Add to that some basil and creamy ricotta, Yum.

This Hazelnut, Ricotta and Lemon Pesto was a wonderfully cool creamy topping for my favorite Chicken and Rosemary Ravioli made by Rana.

I could also imagine this creamy version of pesto on a slice of toasted whole grain bread topped with Tomatoes, or stirred into a pasta salad. Later this week the pesto made a great addition to a pita filled with chicken and cucumbers.  I’m sure both you and I could come up with many other uses for it. But it is a perfect topping on a bowl of ravioli with an extra squeeze of lemon and a Sprinkle of coarse sea salt.

Hazelnut, Ricotta, and Lemon Pesto with Chicken and Rosemary Ravioli 3

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 garlic clove, peeled
  • 1/2 cup hazelnuts, toasted, husked (about 2 ounces)
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped fresh basil
  • 5 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups whole-milk ricotta cheese (from one 15-ounce container)
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons (packed) finely grated lemon peel
  • 3 tablespoons freshly frated Pecorino Romano cheese

Rana Ravioli – Chicken and Rosemary  – http://www.giovannirana.com/products/index-pasta

 

Preparation

  • With processor running, drop garlic clove into machine and blend until finely chopped.
  • Add hazelnuts, basil, and 2 tablespoons olive oil; process until hazelnuts and basil are finely chopped.
  • Add ricotta cheese, lemon juice, lemon peel, and remaining 3 tablespoons olive oil; process until well blended.
  • Transfer mixture to small bowl and stir in Pecorino Romano cheese.
  • Season to taste with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  • I added a little more lemon juice at the table as a garnish and a Sprinkle of course salt. Perfection!
  • DO AHEAD DO AHEAD Can be made 2 days ahead. Cover and refrigerate.

Original recipe can found @ Bon Appetit

Photo Challenge: Spare

 

4 thoughts on “Hazelnut, Ricotta, and Lemon Pesto with Chicken and Rosemary Ravioli

Leave a Reply

