Meyer Lemon and Vanilla Bean Posset (Meyer Lemon Pudding)

Meyer Lemon and Vanilla Bean Posset (Meyer Lemon Pudding)

Meyer Lemon and Vanilla Bean Posset (Meyer Lemon Pudding)

    Creme Brulee ,  then  Salted and Caramelized Vanilla Bean Pudding.

  I’ve been saving a recipe for years, meaning to give it a try.

This week I decided it was time, but with a little tweek.

Instead of Lime and Lemon Posset, it will be Meyer lemon with some vanilla bean added.

The lemons on our Meyer Lemon tree have been staring at me with their almost orange glow for weeks now, crying to be used for something special.

This looks special.

Meyer Lemon and Vanilla Bean Posset (Meyer Lemon Pudding) 2

What is a posset?  I wondered too.

Posset was originally an English drink made of boiled cream, sugar, spices with ale or wine added to curdle and thicken the cream. Posset was made as far back as the 15th century.  It’s even mentioned Shakespeare’s Macbeth.  Possets changed over the centuries to become more of a light custardy dessert using an acid to thicken the hot cream rather than a hot drink with alcohol.

Today, I am going to leave out the limes and just use Meyer lemons, while infusing the custard with vanilla. Like I said last week a love vanilla as an enhancer of flavor.  I think it will do the trick.

Meyer Lemon and Vanilla Bean Posset (Meyer Lemon Pudding) 3

At my home it is prime Meyer lemon season!

I hope that you have had the pleasure of tasting a Meyer Lemon. It’s not just any lemon.  It is the richest, sweetest and most fragrant in the lemon family.  Its clean tart lemon flavor has no bitterness. As a child my sister and I ate them right off the tree in our yard, they are that sweet.

I have in the off season bought them from the store; I am sorry to say, it just isn’t the same.

  January Meyer lemons are the best in my opinion.
My Meyer Lemon tree

That is not an orange, that’s a Meyer lemon on our tree.  I wish I could share one with you. They are thin skinned and FULL of juice. As a finish for the posset we will grate that beautiful skin, dry it in a little sugar while the possets cool, and sprinkle it on top as an extra burst of lemon.

Meyer Lemon and Vanilla Bean Posset (Meyer Lemon Pudding) 4

Now you may be wondering how it turned out?

So smooth and creamy, a perfect lemonade pudding. Creamy lemon curd if you can imagine.

Okay, I am looking for a word other than amazing, ahh, sensational, that works here.

 The posset was Sensational!

Cream, sugar, and lemon juice?

No starch?

I found it a very curious the effect the lemon juice had on the boiled cream and sugar. As the lemon juice is added the cream sets up and thickens while you stir.  The posset  becomes smooth as a pudding or a thick Greek yogurt, without adding any cornstarch.

I will be serving this next time we have guests!

Actually, I will be serving this again next week.  My dear husband went to the fridge and wondered where the last posset had gone?

Meyer Lemon and Vanilla Bean Posset (Meyer Lemon Pudding) 5

Meyer Lemon and Vanilla Bean Posset

It easily makes 6 servings, but served in small ramekins it could go further.

Or double the recipe. I might.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 1/4 cups whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup plus 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 of a vanilla bean scraped of seeds
  • 5 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon peel

 

PREPARATION:

  1. Grate the lemon peel and mix it with the teaspoon of sugar, set it aside to dry.
  2. Bring cream, 3/4 cup sugar, and vanilla bean seeds to boil over medium-high heat, stirring constantly.
  3. Boil 3 minutes, stirring constantly, adjusting heat as needed to prevent mixture from boiling over. Remove from heat.
  4. Stir in lemon juice and cool 10 minutes.
  5. Stir mixture again and divide among six 1/2-cup ramekins or custard cups.
  6. Cover and chill possets until set, at least 4 hours or overnight.
  7. Sprinkle the lemon peel and sugar mixture on top of possets and serve.

Adapted from Lime and Lemon Posset by Epicurious.

Leave a Reply

