Pork or Lamb Vindaloo - Authentic Goan style (Low carb)

Pork or Lamb Vindaloo – Authentic Goan style (Low carb)

Pork or Lamb Vindaloo - Authentic Goan style  (Low carb)

New Year 2016

 

I hope that as you look forward into the coming year it is filled with joy, excitement, and courage to face any challenges that may arise.

 I don’t have any resolutions. I’m not a yearly resolution kind of person.  I HAVE hopes for the year and penciled in plans, thoughts and ideas, but nothing settled or concrete.

Since most of the country is blanketed in snow and will be for some months ahead, soup and stews have been on my mind.  I may live in a sunny state, but it has been cold lately, and rain is on its way. Perfect for pulling out my folders of recipes and sharing my favorites with you.

Speaking of favorites….

I have two cuisines that I truly love.

Mexican and Indian

I love some others, but if I was going to spend time in a famous chef’s kitchen mastering a technique or recipe I have to say it would be learning more about one of these two.

Wonderful for me, my husband is of Mexican descent, so I actually do get to spend time learning from my Mother-in-law and her sister.  I don’t even remember if I came to love Mexican food from them, or if I just always did and was blessed to marry into a family of great cooks. Since I am sharing an Indian recipe today, I better tip toe away from talking about Mexican food.

So, my other love, Indian food.

A few years back I spent some time at multiple libraries in my area picking through books on Indian Cuisine. While my men watched TV, I’d browse these cookbooks and read the stories of where the recipes came from.

One promising book I came upon was

 Madhur Jaffrey’s Quick & Easy Indian Cooking

(follow the link by clicking on the above title, it will take you to Amazon).

 

This recipe is from that book, it is not mine, but it is so good that I have to share it in the hopes that you love a good Indian Vindaloo too.

 

Note:     1. I add the heat at the table via chili or red pepper flakes ( I have become allergic to most hot peppers [SIGH])     2. I also prefer using pork loin since it is easy to cut up.   3.  I tend to double the recipe for my family of five. 

Pork or Lamb Vindaloo - Authentic Goan style  (Low carb) 2

Pork or Lamb Vindaloo

*Serve it over brown rice, cauliflower rice, or spaghetti squash.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons grainy mustard, pommery Moutarde de Meaux
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper, or more (optional)
  • 1 – 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1  onion — cut into half rings
  • 6 large cloves garlic — crushed
  • 1 1/2 lbs boned shoulder of pork or lamb — cut into 1 cubes
  • 1  (14oz can) coconut milk — well stirred (My favorite)

Preparation:

  • Combine the first 6 ingredients, through the red wine vinegar. Mix and set aside.
  • Add the oil to a large frying pan and heat over medium high heat.  When the oil is hot, add the onion. Stir and fry until nicely browned.
  • Add the garlic, stir and fry 30 seconds.
  • Add the spice paste, stir and fry about a minute.
  • Add all the meat, stir and fry about 3 minutes.
  • Add the coconut milk, stir and bring to a boil.
  • Cover and either simmer on low heat on the stove or cover and put in 325F oven. Simmer or bake for 60 minutes.

Note:  Author cooks in a pressure cooker for 20 minutes. She also adds 4 teaspoons of cayenne. Yikes!

Keep warm friends!

May you have a blessed New Year!

3 thoughts on “Pork or Lamb Vindaloo – Authentic Goan style (Low carb)

Leave a Reply

