Flourless Chocolate Cookies with a Kick

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies with Chipotle Salt

 

   I LOVE all things chocolate!

But, Chocolate with Chipotle, that I am addicted too!

I have a recipe for Double Chocolate Chip Cookies that calls for Chipotle, but we were having company and my friend can’t have flour.  Since gluten-free is everywhere I thought I would attempt making a gluten-free treat for her. The problem with gluten-free is the other flour options are expensive and to be honest my family prefers flour to the other options that I have tried in the past.

So, when I saw a recipe that was flourless, I thought why not give this a try.   I already had all the ingredients in my pantry.  It seemed like a win, win. And if the they didn’t  turn out, I could still run to the store for a pre-baked option.

I have to say, on my part I was pretty pleased with the flourless option.  The cookies remind me of meringues.    But they don’t need to bake for an hour.  The cocoa gives a wonderful rich chocolate flavor that holds everything together and by adding the chipotle you get a little surprise at the end.

Chocolate Chip Chipotle Cookies 2

Make sure you use parchment paper or you will be sadly disappointed trying to remove them.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cups dutch process or special dark cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon chipotle powder
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Topping – pinch of chipotle powder mixed with 1/4 tsp. of coarse salt ( or Fleur de Sel)

 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix together the powdered sugar, cocoa,  salt, and chipotle powder on low speed. Add the eggs. Mix again starting on low until smooth.  Add chocolate chips.

Line cookie sheet with parchment paper and drop dough by tablespoon.   Sprinkle with added chipotle topping if desired or just a little Sprinkling of Fleur de Sel.

Bake for 12 minutes.  Cool on paper for 5 minutes before removing so that they have time to set.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

