Fish with Fresh Peach Salsa

 

Fish with Fresh Peach Salsa

 

 

    Fish with Fresh Peach Salsa

  Spring has sprung at my house.  The daffodils are blooming and this morning I have no need for the Ground Hog to tell me that spring is coming.  The birds are singing their own chorus of love loudly from my patio, my trees, and the telephone wire.  The morning the Song Sparrow proclaims his song of love is all I need and today is that day. He has arrived!

With that, what says spring more than the vibrant colors of peach salsa on my plate.  My recipe calls for Swordfish, but I am not always in the mood for a heavy, meaty fish.  Today I prefered a lighter texture.  I used Swai, though Tilapia or still meaty Swordfish works well.

 IMG_5049

My store had the ripest orange sweet peppers so as I picked over the peppers, I went with orange even though red might have made the salsa color pop more.  Orange peppers are always my first choice if the price is right.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_5054

A side note about peppers,  someone once told me, if you want a sweet pepper – pick one with 3 nodes on the bottom.  Me being the scientific mom that I am, tested the theory out and in my experience it is a correct hypothesis.  I have found when buying peppers of the same color for different uses in my weekly menu, 4 node peppers don’t have the same sweetness of the 3 node peppers that “I” have purchased.  I could be wrong, but that is my opinion not a scientific law.  You test it out yourself.

I served this recipe with a side of brown rice and fried ripe plaintains with

a Dash of Fleur de Sel.

 Fish with Fresh Peach Salsa

 Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe Peaches, diced
  • 1 med. Red Bell Pepper -OR orange, diced
  • 1/2 – 1 whole jalapeno, diced
  • ½ red onion, peeled and chopped
  • ¼ – 1/2 C. Cilantro, chopped
  • 2 T. Lime juice
  • 2 T.  Honey
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1 lb. fish filets or steaks

 

Preparation:

Peach Salsa

  •    Combine peaches through honey and Sprinkle with salt. Chill for at least 30 minutes.

IMG_5057

 Fish

 –   Sprinkle fish with your choice of seasoning.  I like something sweet and salty like a bbq rub or just a combination of  sugar, chipotle powder, and salt.  Grill or pan fry fish for 3 -7 minutes (depending on type and thickness) on each side or until done.

 Fish with Fresh Peach Salsa

Leave a Reply

